Official Journal of the European Union

C 184/32


Implementation of Erasmus Mundus External Cooperation Window Asia Region in the academic year 2008/2009

The Community Action programme for the promotion of cooperation between higher education institutions and the exchange of students, researchers and academic staff from EU Member States and Third-Countries

(2008/C 184/08)

1.   Objectives and description

The Erasmus Mundus External Cooperation Window aims at mutual enrichment and better understanding between the European Union and Third-Countries. It is designed to foster institutional co-operation in the field of higher education between the European Union and Third-countries through a mobility scheme addressing student and academic exchanges for the purpose of studying, teaching, training and research.

The following activities and costs will be covered by the programme.

The setting of institutional-based partnerships of European and Third-Country higher education institutions to cover both types of activities:

the organisation of individual mobility of higher education students, researchers and academic staff,

the implementation of individual mobility. The types of mobility and education to be funded under this call are:

students: undergraduate, master, doctorate and post-doctorate mobility opportunities,

academic staff: exchanging for the purposes of teaching, practical training and research.

2.   Eligible applicant and beneficiaries

Applicants must be European Universities or Higher Education Institutions representing a partnership up to 20 partners' institutions.

The partnership composition has to be constituted of European Higher Education Institutions, in possession of an Erasmus Charter before the date of publication of the present call and Third-Country Higher Education Institutions recognised and accredited by the national authorities.

3.   Eligible country

The eligible countries for the activities covered by the call are:

the 27 member States of the European Union,

the European Candidate countries Croatia and Turkey and EEA countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway),

the following Asian countries: Afghanistan, Bhutan, Nepal, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Cambodia, Sri Lanka, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand, China, North Korea, Myanmar/Burma and Maldives.

4.   Budget available

The overall indicative amount made available for the Asia region under this call for proposals is EUR 11 085 700.

Geographical window

Number of partnerships expected to be funded

Estimated maximum grant per partnership

Asia region


EUR 5 542 850

5.   Deadlines

Applications must be sent no later than 31 October 2008.

6.   Further information

The full text of the call for proposals and the application forms are available on the following website:


Applications must comply with the requirements set out in the full text and be submitted using the form provided.