Official Journal of the European Union

C 247/17

List of national services responsible for border-controls for the purposes of Article 15(2) of Regulation (EC) No 562/2006 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 15 March 2006 establishing a Community Code on the rules governing the movement of persons across borders (Schengen Borders Code)

(2006/C 247/02)

The national services responsible for border controls under the national legislation of each Member State for the purposes of Article 15(2) are:

for the Kingdom of Belgium: Federal Police (Police Fédérale/Federale Politie);

for the Czech Republic: the Alien and Border Police Service, Customs;

for the Kingdom of Denmark: det danske politi (Danish Police);

for the Federal Republic of Germany: Bundespolizei (Federal Police), Customs and Federal State Police in Bavaria, Bremen and Hamburg;

for the the Republic of Estonia: the Board of Border Guard (Piirivalveamet) and the Tax and Customs Board (Tolliamet);

for the Hellenic Republic: Ελληνική Αστυνομία (Helliniki Astynomia — Hellenic Police), Λιμενικό Σώμα (Limeniko Soma — Hellenic Coast Guard), Τελωνεία (Telonia — Customs);

for the Kingdom of Spain: Cuerpo Nacional de Policía, Guardia Civil, Servicios de Aduanas;

for the French Republic:


in charge of border checks at border crossing points: Direction centrale de la police aux frontières, Direction générale des douanes et droits indirects ;


in charge of border surveillance between border crossing points: services de la Direction générale de la police nationale, i.e. Direction centrale de la police aux frontières, Direction générale des douanes et droits indirects, Gendarmerie nationale et Marine nationale;

for the Italian Republic: Polizia di Stato, Carabinieri, Guardia di Finanza;

for the Republic of Cyprus: Αστυνομία Κύπρου (Cyprus Police), Τμήμα Τελωνείων (Customs and Excise Department);

for the Republic of Latvia: Valsts robežsardze (State Border Guard);

for the Republic of Lithuania: the State Border Guard Service under the Ministry of the Interior;

for the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg: special Police division at the airport (Service de Contrôle à l'Aéroport (SCA) de la Police grand-ducale);

for the Republic of Hungary: the Border Guard (Határőrség) (and Customs (Vám-és Pénzügyőrség), the latter only at border crossing points with Ukraine, Serbia-Montenegro, Croatia and Romania;

for the Republic of Malta: the Immigration Police and the Customs Department;

for the Kingdom of the Netherlands: Koninklijke Marechaussee, Customs (entry and excise duties), Rotterdam (port) District Police;

for the Republic of Austria: Bundespolizei (Federal Police);

for the Republic of Poland: the Border Guard;

for the Portuguese Republic: Serviço de Estrangeiros e Fronteiras,, Brigada Fiscal da Guarda Nacional Republicana;

for the Republic of Slovenia: slovenska policija (Slovenian police)

for the Slovak Republic: Border Police and Customs;

for the Republic of Finland: Border Guard(main responsibility), Customs and Police;

for the Kingdom of Sweden: Police (main responsibility), assisted by the Coast Guard, the Customs and the Migration Board. Maritime border control is the independent responsibility of the Coast Guard;

for the Republic of Iceland: Ríkislögreglustjóri (Directorate-General of National Police), Lögreglustjórar (District Police Chiefs);

for the Kingdom of Norway: Police (main responsibility), with assistance in certain cases by the Customs or the Armed Forces (Coast Guard or Garrison at Varanger-South).