ISSN 1831-5380
Site map | Legal notice | Cookies | FAQ | Contact | Print page

9.1.3. Addresses in multilingual documents

In multilingual works of the European Union institutions, bodies and organisations, lists of addresses are usually composed once only so that they are harmonised and consistent.

In unilingual works, if addresses are presented using the same structure in all linguistic versions (e.g. in a table containing a list of addresses appearing on the same page of the publication in all versions) we use the rules for multilingual works.

European Union Member States

For the European Union Member States, each address is presented in the original language, taking into account the following remarks.

For Belgium, addresses are given in French and Dutch (an agreement has been concluded with the Belgian authorities that German, the third national language, is not represented).
For Bulgaria, Greece and Cyprus, addresses are given once in characters of the original alphabet and once in Roman characters (English transcription). In the Bulgarian or Greek character version, the town and country names also appear in Roman characters (English transcription).
For Ireland, addresses are given in Irish and English.
For Malta, addresses are given in Maltese and English.
For Finland, addresses are given in Finnish and Swedish.
An example of a multilingual list for European Union Member States is shown in Section 9.1.4.

Non-EU countries

For non-EU countries using a different alphabet (China, Japan and countries using Arabic languages, etc.), addresses require a transliteration into a Roman alphabet language. The name of the country, and possibly that of the town, appears in an internationally recognised EU language, usually English.

Last updated: 28.8.2019
Top of the page
Previous pageNext page