ISSN 1831-5380
Site map | Legal notice | Cookies | FAQ | Contact | Print page

7.2.2. Listing languages in text (unilingual texts)

In the text, the order for listing languages varies according to the linguistic version. In English-language publications, languages should be listed in English alphabetical order: Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish (1), Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish.

When an agreement is also written in a non-EU-country language that is not an official EU language, the EU languages precede that non-EU-country language for protocol reasons:

This agreement is drawn up in English, French, German, Italian and Arabic.
Do not use the word ‘Gaelic’, the two terms are not synonymous. See box, Section 7.2.4.
Last updated: 29.8.2019
Top of the page
Previous pageNext page